Latest Article

Massachusetts DUI Law Information

Drivers convicted of OUI in Massachusetts face severe fines and penalties.

Wyoming DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the Wyoming for driving under the influence (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties, including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Wyoming DUI defined

It is illegal in the State of Wyoming to drive or have control of a vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance. According to the Wyoming DUI statute, “(b) No person shall drive or have actual physical control of any vehicle within this state if the person: (i) Has an alcohol concentration of eight one-hundredths of one percent (0.08%) or more.” Drivers can also be charged with DUI if they are under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of a controlled substance.

Wyoming Look Back or wash-out period: 10 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Wyoming

First DUI Offense
(Misdemeanor)

  • Fines up to $750
  • Jail time up to six months
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Potential mandatory installation of an ignition interlock for high BAC
  • Substance abuse and assessment
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance

Second DUI Offense
Within 10 years

  • Fines $200 up to $750
  • Jail time of seven days up to six months
  • License suspension for one year
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock for one year
  • Substance abuse and assessment
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance

Third DUI Offense
(Within 10 years)

  • Fines of $750 up to $3000
  • Jail time of 30 day to six months
  • License suspension for three years
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock for two years
  • Substance abuse and assessment
  • Possible inpatient treatment program
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance

Fourth DUI offense
(Felony)

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Jail time for up to seven years
  • Indefinite license suspension
  • Lifetime installation of an ignition interlock (with appeal after 5 years)
  • Substance abuse and assessment and treatment required
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance

Administrative Penalties in Wyoming

Drivers in Wyoming have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required chemical testing after a DUI arrest may result in administrative penalties which are imposed by the State of Wyoming regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI. Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

First chemical test refusal:

-License suspension for six months
-Ignition interlock requirement for six months
-Wyoming SR22 Insurance required

Second chemical test refusal:

-License suspension for 18 months
-Ignition interlock requirement for one year to a lifetime
-Wyoming SR22 Insurance required

To challenge an administrative license suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting the Wyoming Office of Administrative Hearings within 20 days from the date of their DUI arrest. If you do not request a hearing within the specified number of days from your DUI arrest your license will be automatically suspended.

Arrested with BAC under the per se limit

Drivers in Wyoming can be arrested and charged with driving while impaired even if their BAC is not over the illegal limit of 0.08% or higher. To charge you with driving while impaired the state can present evidence such as your physical appearance and sobriety tests. A charge may result with any level of alcohol, assuming the state is able to prove you were not able to safely operate your vehicle.

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages


Previous Article

Wisconsin DUI Information