Latest Article

South Carolina DUI Law Information

Drivers in South Carolina face severe fines and penalties if convicted of DUI.

West Dundee man arrested for sixth DUI

The Rockford Registered Star in West Dundee, Illinois, reports that Dwight B. Huffman, 57, was arrested on Monday night for his six driving under the influence (DUI) charge. According to reports, Huffman was arrested following a traffic stop on Illinois 72 and 31.

Huffman, who has five previous driving under the influence convictions and has been charged with driving on a revoked license eleven times, had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.16% at the time of his arrest, was twice the legal limit.

He was taken into custody at the 400 block of Fitch Road in Rockford, and he was charged with two Class X felony counts of aggravated DUI and a class 3 felony count of driving on a revoked or suspended license. Huffman’s bail was set at $500,000. He will be held in the Kane County Jail until his next court date on June 29, 2016.

What should be done with Huffman?

Cases like Huffman’s are especially difficult for the state. Clearly he has a total disregard for the laws and the safety of other individuals. Unfortunately, he probably also has a severe dependency on alcohol and needs more than a lengthy prison sentence to solve his alcohol issues.

The state, which has probably done all they can do to stop Huffman from operating a motorized vehicle, also has limited options. What do you do with a man who refuses to stop driving? Short of incarcerating him forever your options are limited to revoking his license- which clearly is not a deterrent for him- forcing him to install an ignition interlock device in his car, and confiscating his vehicle.

Unfortunately, Huffman’s actions, if left unchecked, are likely to lead to the injury or death of another person or driver so it’s important that the state sends a clear message that drivers like Huffman will not be allowed to drive.

What do I do if I am arrested for a DUI?

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Illinois it’s important to talk to a DUI lawyer. State laws vary, but all states have imposed severe DUI penalties and fines if you are convicted for DUI. If you are arrested for DUI in the State of Illinois you can expect to face the following penalties:

First DUI offense: (Class A Misdemeanor)

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fines up to $2,500
  • $500 DUI technology fee or assessment plus court costs
  • Probation
  • Possible random drug and alcohol testing and substance treatment
  • Community service
  • Restitution for any damages to injured parties
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device

Bottom Line: Disregard for the laws cannot be tolerated. If Huffman is allowed to continue to drive he puts other drivers at risk.

(Read more: - news )





Related Pages