Latest Article

Man convicted of 7 DUIs now charged with another

Man already convicted of 7 DUI\'s now facing another.

Washington DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the Washington for driving while under the influence (DWI) will face severe DWI penalties, including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Washington DWI defined

In Washington, a person is guilty of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, marijuana, or any drug if the person drives a vehicle within this state and: (a) the person has, within two hours after driving, an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher as shown by analysis of the person's breath or blood made under RCW 46.61.506; or (b) The person has, within two hours after driving, a THC concentration of 5.00 or higher as shown by analysis of the person's blood made under RCW 46.61.506; or (c) While the person is under the influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor, marijuana, or any drug; or (d) While the person is under the combined influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor, marijuana, and any drug.

Washington Back or wash-out period: 7 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DWI penalties can be substantially increased. Convictions outside of the look back period may also be considered by the court, but the court is not required to increase the penalties under the state’s DWI statute.

Criminal DWI Penalties in Washington

First DWI Offense
BAC under 0.15%
(Misdemeanor)

  • 24 consecutive hours in jail
  • Fines and fees of $941
  • 90 days license suspension
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device after suspension for one year
  • Mandatory attendance in a drug and alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in a DUI victim impact panel
  • Probation for at least 2 years

Second DWI Offense
BAC under 0.15%

  • 30 days in jail followed by 60 days electronic home monitoring
  • Fines and fees of $1196
  • Two year license suspension
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device after suspension for one year
  • Mandatory attendance in a drug and alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in a DUI victim impact panel
  • Probation for at least 5 years

Third DWI Offense
BAC under 0.15%

  • 90 days in jail followed by 120 days electronic home monitoring
  • Fines and fees of $1970
  • Three year license suspension
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device after suspension for one year
  • Mandatory attendance in a drug and alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in a DUI victim impact panel
  • Probation for at least 5 years

Third DUI offense
BAC over 0.15%

  • 120 days in jail followed by 150 days electronic home monitoring
  • Fines and fees of $2821
  • Four year license revocation
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device after suspension for one year up to 10 years
  • Mandatory attendance in a drug and alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in a DUI victim impact panel
  • Probation for at least 5 years

Administrative Penalties in Washington

Drivers in Washington have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DWI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties which are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DWI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

-1st Chemical Test Refusal: Driver's license revocation for one year.
-2nd Chemical Test Refusal or their second administrative suspension within 7 years: Driver’s license revocation for 2 years

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting the Washington Department of Licensing (DOL) within 20 days from the date of their DWI arrest. If you do not request a hearing within the specified number of days from your DWI arrest your license will be automatically suspended.

 

(Read more: - state laws )





Related Pages