Latest Article

Man convicted of 7 DUIs now charged with another

Man already convicted of 7 DUI\'s now facing another.

Vermonth DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Vermont may be charged with DUI and face jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension.

Vermont DUI defined

It is illegal in the State of Vermont for (a) A person to operate, attempt to operate, or to be in actual physical control of any vehicle on a highway: (1) when the person's alcohol concentration is 0.08 or more, or (2) when the person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor; or (3) when the person is under the influence of any other drug or under the combined influence of alcohol and any other drug; or 4) when the person's alcohol concentration is 0.04 or more if the person is operating a commercial motor vehicle as defined in subdivision 4103(4) of this title. Vermont Statute, Title 23, Chapter 13.

Vermont Look Back period: Lifetime

Vermont has a lifetime look back period to determine whether a driver is a second or third time offender. If you are charged with DUI the court will consider all previous DUI convictions when determining whether this is your second, third or fourth DUI offense.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Vermont

First DUI offense

  • No jail time up to a maximum of two years
  • Fines of no more than $750 (not including court costs and other fees)
  • Mandatory 90 day license suspension
  • Mandatory completion of an evaluation by an alcohol counselor
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance for three years

Second DUI offense

  • Up to 60 consecutive hours in jail; or
  • Performance of 200 hours of community service at a state-approved facility
  • Fines of no more than $1,500 (not including court costs and other fees)
  • 200 hours of community service
  • Mandatory 18 month license suspension
  • Potential mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory completion of an evaluation by an alcohol counselor
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol rehabilitation program
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance for three years
  • Potential vehicle impoundment

Third DUI offense
(Felony)

  • 96 consecutive hours in jail; or
  • Performance of 400 hours of community service at a state-approved facility
  • More serious charges may result in a jail sentence up to 5 years
  • Fines of no more than $2,500 (not including court costs and other fees)
  • 200 hours of community service
  • Lifetime license suspension with a review after three years of sobriety
  • Potential mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory completion of an evaluation by an alcohol counselor
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol rehabilitation program
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance for three years
  • Potential vehicle impoundment

Fourth DUI Offense
(Felony)

  • Up to 10 years in prison
  • Fines of no more than $5,000 (not including court costs and other fees)
  • At least 192 hours of the prison sentence must be served
  • Community service
  • Lifetime license suspension with a review after three years of sobriety
  • Potential installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory completion of an evaluation by an alcohol counselor
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol rehabilitation program
  • Mandatory purchase of SR22 insurance
  • Potential vehicle impoundment

Administrative Penalties in Vermont

Drivers in Vermont have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties which are administered by the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

Drivers who refuse to submit to a chemical test at the time of their DUI arrest will be given a notice suspension at the time of the DUI arrest. Their Vermont driver’s license will also be confiscated and they will be issued a temporary permit to drive.

-Penalties for a first test refusal: Driver’s license suspension for six months.
-Penalties for a second test refusal: Driver’s license suspension for 18 months
-Penalties for a third test refusal: Lifetime license suspension.

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles within a specified timeframe from the date of the DUI arrest. An administrative hearing will be held, and if the court upholds the arrest and the driver does not win their challenge, they must serve the full license suspension and meet reinstatement requirements to resume driving.

(Read more: - state laws )





Related Pages