Latest Article

Nebraska DUI Law Information

Nebraska drivers face severe fines and penalties if convicted of a DUI.

Tennessee DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Tennessee for driving under the influence (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties, including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Tennessee DUI defined

In Tennessee “It is unlawful for any person to drive or to be in physical control of any automobile or other motor driven vehicle on any of the public roads and highways of the state, or on any streets or alleys, or while on the premises of any shopping center, trailer park or any apartment house complex, or any other premises that is generally frequented by the public at large, while: (1)  Under the influence of any intoxicant, marijuana, narcotic drug, or drug producing stimulating effects on the central nervous system; or (2)  The alcohol concentration in the person's blood or breath is eight-hundredths of one percent (.08 %) or more.” Tennessee Statute 55-10-401

Tennessee Back or wash-out period: 10 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Tennessee

First DUI Offense
(Misdemeanor)

  • Mandatory 48 hours up to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • Jail increases to minimum 7 days if BAC is 0.20% or higher
  • Fines of $350 up to $1,500
  • Highway litter removal for a mandatory 24 hours
  • Mandatory DUI assessment
  • Mandatory DUI School or Victim Impact Panel
  • License revocation up to one year
  • Volunteer work may be required
  • Ignition Interlock installation at the discretion of the court

Second DUI offense
(Within 10 years)

  • Mandatory minimum 45 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • Probationary Period 11 months, 29 days less the time spent in jail
  • Fines of $600 – $3,500
  • Mandatory DUI assessment
  • Mandatory DUI School or Victim Impact Panel
  • Two years license revocation
  • Volunteer work may be required
  • Ignition Interlock installation required
  • Authorized vehicle forfeiture

 Third DUI Offense
(Within 10 years)

  • Mandatory minimum 120 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • Probation of 11 months, 29 days less the time spent in jail
  • Fines of $1,100 – $10,000
  • Mandatory DUI assessment
  • Mandatory DUI School or Victim Impact Panel
  • License revocation 6 years
  • Volunteer work may be required
  • Ignition Interlock installation required for reinstatement if previous DUI is within 5 years
  • Authorized vehicle forfeiture
     

4th DUI offense
(Within 10 years or previously been convicted of a felony)

  • Mandatory minimum 150 days to 6 years in jail
  • Probation of 1-6 years less the time spent in jail
  • Fines of $3,000 – $15,000
  • Mandatory DUI assessment
  • Mandatory DUI School or Victim Impact Panel
  • License revocation 8 years
  • Volunteer work may be required
  • Ignition Interlock installation required for reinstatement if previous DUI is within 5 years
  • Authorized vehicle forfeiture

Administrative Penalties in Tennessee

Drivers in Tennessee have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties which are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

-1st offense: Driver's license revoked up to one year.
-2nd offense: Driver’s license revoked up to 2 years

To challenge an administrative suspension drivers must request an administrative hearing. If you do not request a hearing within the specified number of days from your DUI arrest your license will be automatically suspended.

(Read more: - state laws )





Related Pages