T.J. McDonald Rams safety arrested for DUI
NFL.com reports that Rams Safety T.J. McDonald was arrested Tuesday morning for driving under the influence (DUI). Los Angeles police, who confirmed the report to NFL Media, stated that he was arrested after he hit a parked car in the early morning.
The collision was in the Los Angeles neighborhood of Woodland Hills, with the arrest occurring at 8:30 a.m. The accident report was made to the police by the owner of the car.
According to Public Information Officer Mike Lopez, there were no other injuries at the time of the collision, but police were able to determine that although McDonald was not under the influence of alcohol, he had consumed some substance that made him unable to safely operate his vehicle.
After receiving the incident report and investigating the accident, the police took McDonald into custody and booked him at 3:20 p.m. He was released three hours later by the Los Angeles Police after he posted a $300 bond.
McDonald is scheduled to appear in court on June 3.
Rams respond to arrest report
After receiving news about T.J. McDonald’s arrest the Rams issued a statement. “We are aware of the incident involving T.J. McDonald this morning, and we are gathering information. We have no further comment at this time.”
T.J. McDonald, 25, was a drafted in 2013 from the University of Southern California (USC). He has been a consistent starter for the Rams, appearing in 37 games since he was drafted. Last year, however, he injured his shoulder and after playing in 11 games was required to have surgery; at which time the Rams decided to place him on injured reserve.
Penalties for DUI in California
California's DUI law states, “It is unlawful for a person under the influence of any drug to drive a vehicle.” (California Vehicle Code Section 23152-23229.1) With this in mind, if the state has sufficient evidence that T.J. McDonald was under the influence of drugs and unable to safely operate his car, assuming this is his first DUI, he will be charged with a misdemeanor DUI.
Penalties can include the following:
- Possible jail time for 96 hours up to 6 months in jail
- Fines up to $2,000
- Drivers license suspension for 6 months with potential restricted license after 30 days
- Completion of a substance abuse or DUI program prior to license reinstatement
- Must purchase SR22 insurance
- Possible probation
- Additional $2,600 in penalties and assessments
Previous ArticleSupreme Court allows breathalyzer after DUI without warrant
Next ArticleTennessee DUI Law Information