South Carolina Sophomore Christian Pellage charged with DUI
In less than two months the first hint of fall air will welcome another football season. Unfortunately, there’s one South Carolina player who will not be playing in the first game.
The State newspaper online edition reports that South Carolina sophomore Christian Pellage has been indefinitely suspended from football and will miss at least one game. This news was reported after he was arrested Friday in South Carolina for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
Pellage was set to report to the first day of practice on August 2, but according to information provided by the University of South Carolina’s athletic department, Pellage is suspended from all South Carolina football activities until his case is reviewed and resolved. This policy is department wide, according to the USC athletic department.
What will the team decide about Christian Pellage?
The team reports that all required parties have been notified of the incident and the Gamecocks head coach Will Muschamp has met with athletic director Ray Tanner about the incident.
The head coach made a statement after the arrest and after meeting with Ray Tanner noting, “Pellage is going to miss some game time. “I am working through all the details with Christian.”
Information about the DUI Arrest
Accord to report, Christian Pellage, 19, was arrested on Friday after he was stopped for DUI. The police officially charged him with his first-offense DUI. He was released on a $1,017 personal recognizance bond later that night. He has a court date at 1 p.m. on August 24th.
Pellage, a 6-foot-7, 300-pounder, played in all 12 games his first year for the South Carolina Gamecocks, although his is officially listed as the backup to left guard Zack Bailey on the Gamecocks’ preseason depth chart.
Penalties if charged for a South Carolina DUI
Like all states, South Carolina has severe penalties and high fines even for first-time DUI offenders. In fact, a first DUI offense in South Carolina can cost you a maximum of $992.00 or 30 days in jail.
Other DUI fines for a South Carolina DUI can include a 107% assessment fee added to any fine imposed, and a mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device. Drivers will also be required to maintain SR-22 insurance for at least 3 years and attend the Alcohol & Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP) at a cost of $500.
Drivers who are arrested with a child under the age of 16 in the car will also face more severe fines and penalties.
Getting arrested for DUI, even if you are a football player at a major university, can cost you hundreds of thousands of dollars.