Latest Article

Massachusetts DUI Law Information

Drivers convicted of OUI in Massachusetts face severe fines and penalties.

Rhode Island DUI Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Rhode Island for driving under the influence drugs or alcohol (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential ignition interlock installation, and high fines.

Rhode Island DUI defined

It is illegal in the State of Rhode Island for a driver to operate any vehicle in the state while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drugs, toluene, or any controlled substance as defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these. Drivers also can be charged with DUI if their “blood alcohol concentration is eight one-hundredths of one percent (.08%) or more by weight, as shown by a chemical analysis of a blood, breath, or urine sample. (Rhode Island Statute Section 31-27-2)

Rhode Island Look Back or wash-out period: 5 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased.

Rhode Island DUI Penalties

Rhode Island requires the court to increase the severity of the DUI penalties assessed based on the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of the Rhode Island DUI arrest.

First DUI Offense
Blood alcohol concentration between 0.08% up to 0.10%

  • Fines of $100 up to $300 plus additional court costs and penalties
  • License Suspension of 30 to 180 Days
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Public Community Service
  • Potential enrollment in an alcohol treatment program

First Offense
Blood alcohol concentration between 0.10% up to 0.15%

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fines of $100 up to $300 plus additional court costs and penalties
  • License Suspension of 3 to 12 Months
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Public Community Service
  • Mandatory enrollment in an alcohol treatment program

First Offense
Blood alcohol concentration greater than 0.15

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fines plus additional court costs and penalties totaling $1,200
  • License Suspension of 3 to 12 Months
  • 20 to 60 Hours of Public Community Service
  • Mandatory enrollment in an alcohol treatment program

Second DUI Offense
Blood alcohol concentration between 0.08% up to 0.15%

  • Jail time of 10 days up to one year
  • Fines totaling over $1,200
  • License Suspension of 1 to 2 years
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Public Community Service
  • Mandatory enrollment in an alcohol treatment program

Second DUI Offense
Blood alcohol concentration greater than 0.15%

  • Jail time of 6 months up to one year
  • Fines totaling over $1,750
  • License Suspension of 1 to 2 years
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Public Community Service
  • Mandatory enrollment in an alcohol treatment program

Third DUI Offense
Blood alcohol concentration between 0.08% up to 0.15%

  • Mandatory one year in jail up to three years in jail
  • Fines and penalties totaling $1,200
  • License Suspension of 2 to 3 years
  • 10 to 60 Hours of Public Community Service
  • Mandatory enrollment in an alcohol treatment program

Third DUI Offense
Blood alcohol concentration greater than 0.15%

  • Mandatory 3 years in jail up to five years
  • Fines between $1,000 and $5,000
  • License Suspension for 3 years
  • Public Community Service
  • Mandatory enrollment in an alcohol treatment program

Administrative Penalties in Rhode Island

Drivers in Rhode Island have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for driving while impaired (DUI). Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing within a specified number of days from the DUI arrest by contacting the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

First chemical test refusal:

  • Six month license suspension
  • 60 hours of community service
  • $200- $500 fine

Second chemical test refusal:

  • One year license suspension
  • 60 to 100 hours of community service
  • $600 to $1,000 fine
  • Possibly jail 

Third chemical test refusal:

  • 2 to 5 year license suspension
  • 100 hours of community service
  • $800 to $1,000 fine
  • Possibly jail

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages