Latest Article

Kentucky DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for DUI in Kentucky face high fines and penalties.

Pennsylvania DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Pennsylvania may be charged with DUI and face jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension.

Pennsylvania DUI defined

It is illegal in the State of Pennsylvania to “drive, operate or be in actual physical control of the movement of a vehicle after imbibing a sufficient amount of alcohol such that the individual is rendered incapable of safely driving, operating or being in actual physical control of the movement of the vehicle. Drivers also may not drive after imbibing a sufficient amount of alcohol such that the alcohol concentration in the individual's blood or breath is at least 0.08%.” Drivers are also barred from operating a vehicle with any amount of a controlled substance (as listed in the statutes) in their blood. (Pennsylvania Statutes Chapter 38, Title 75)

Pennsylvania Look Back period: 10 Years

Pennsylvania has a 10 year look back period to determine whether a driver is a second or third time offender. If you are charged with DUI the court will consider all previous DUI convictions when determining whether this is your second, third or fourth DUI offense.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania

First DUI offense
(Generally Impaired with a BAC of 0.08% to 0.099%)

  • Fines of $300
  • Attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • Comply with drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by court
  • Potential 150 hours of community service
  • 6 months probation

Second DUI offense
(Generally Impaired with a BAC of 0.08% to 0.099%)

  • Fines of $300-$2,500
  • Attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • Comply with drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by court
  • Potential 150 hours of community service
  • Required ignition interlock if offense within 10 years of the first offense
  • 12 month license suspension
  • Jail time of at least 5 days

Third DUI offense
(Generally Impaired with a BAC of 0.08% to 0.099%)

  • Fines of $500-$5,000
  • Attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • Comply with drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by court
  • Potential 150 hours of community service
  • 12 month license suspension
  • Jail time of at least 10 days

First DUI offense
(High rate of blood alcohol with a BAC of 0.10% to 0.159%)

  • Fines of $500-$5,000
  • Attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • Comply with drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by court
  • Potential 150 hours of community service
  • Minimum jail term of 48 hours
  • 12 month license suspension
  • One year ignition interlock device

Second DUI offense
(High rate of blood alcohol with a BAC of 0.10% to 0.159%)

  • Fines of $750-$5,000
  • Attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • Comply with drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by court
  • Potential 150 hours of community service
  • 12 months license suspension
  • One year ignition interlock device
  • Jail time of at least 30 days

Third DUI offense
(High rate of blood alcohol with a BAC of 0.10% to 0.159%)

  • Fines of $1,500-$10,000
  • Attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • Comply with drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed by court
  • Potential 150 hours of community service
  • One year ignition interlock device
  • 18 month license suspension
  • Jail time of at least 90 days

Administrative Penalties in Pennsylvania

Drivers in Pennsylvania have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties which are administered Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (DOT/PennDOT) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted for DUI.

Drivers who refuse to submit to a chemical test at the time of their DUI arrest will be given notice of the refusal at the time of the DUI arrest. Their Pennsylvania driver’s license will also be confiscated and they will be issued a temporary permit to drive.

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (DOT/PennDOT) within 30 days from the date of the DUI arrest. An administrative hearing will be held, and if the court upholds the arrest and the driver does not win their challenge they must serve the full license suspension and meet reinstatement requirements to resume driving, which can include a one year license suspension for the first refusal.

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages