Latest Article

Kentucky DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for DUI in Kentucky face high fines and penalties.

Oklahoma DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Oklahoma may be charged with DUI and face jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension.

Oklahoma DUI defined 

It is unlawful and punishable for any person to drive, operate, or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle within this state (1) with a blood or breath alcohol concentration of eight-hundredths (0.08) or more at the time of a test of such person’s blood or breath administered within two hours after the arrest of such person; (2) to operate a motorized vehicle while under the influence of alcohol; or (3) to operate a motorized vehicle with any amount of a Schedule I chemical or controlled substance, as defined in Section 2-204 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or (4) to operate a motorized vehicle while under the influence of any intoxicating substance other than alcohol which may render such person incapable of safely driving or operating a motor vehicle; or is under the combined influence of alcohol and any other intoxicating substance which may render such person incapable of safely driving or operating a motor vehicle. (Oklahoma Statute 47 O.S. 11-902)

Oklahoma Look Back period: 10 years

If a driver is convicted of a second, third or fourth DUI in less than 10 years from the date of the previous offense their penalties and fines may be enhanced.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Oklahoma

First DUI offense
(Misdemeanor)

  • Sentenced to no less than 10 days in jail and no more than one year
  • Fines up to $1,000
  • Following a conviction, all DUI offenders are required to complete an assessment and evaluation
  • 180 day license suspension

Second DUI offense
(Within 10 years)
(Potential felony conviction)

  • If convicted of a felony you could face one to five years in prison
  • If convicted of a misdemeanor you could face 10 days to one year in jail
  • Fines up to $2,500
  • Evaluation by the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • One year license suspension 

Third DUI offense
(Within 10 years)
(Felony)

  • Minimum one year in prison
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • Evaluation by the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • One year license suspension

Fourth DUI offense
(Within 10 years)
(Felony)

  • Prison sentence from one to ten years
  • 480 hours of community service
  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Evaluation by the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • One year supervision and periodic alcohol testing
  • Up to three year license suspension

Administrative Penalties in Oklahoma

Drivers in Oklahoma have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted for DUI.

-First chemical test refusal: Driver’s license suspension for 6 months
18 month ignition interlock device required
-Second chemical test refusal: one year license revocation
-Third chemical test refusal: three year license revocation

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing within 15 days from the date of their DUI arrest by contacting the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS). Drivers who do not request a hearing will face an automatic license suspension 30 days after the DUI arrest.

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages