Latest Article

Colorado DUI Law Information

Colorado drivers convicted of DUI face severe penalties and high fines.

North Dakota DUI Information

Drivers arrested in the State of North Dakota for driving under the influence (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties, including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

North Dakota DUI defined

It is illegal in the State of North Dakota to drive or have actual physical control of any vehicle upon a highway or upon public or private areas to which the public has a right of access for vehicular use in this state if any of the following apply: (A) That person has an alcohol concentration of at least eight one-hundredths of one percent by weight at the time of the performance of a chemical test within two hours after the driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle. (B) That person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor. (C) That person is under the influence of any drug or substance or combination of drugs or substances to a degree which renders that person incapable of safely driving. (D) That person is under the combined influence of alcohol and any other drugs or substances to a degree which renders that person incapable of safely driving. (North Dakota Statutes 39-08-01)

North Dakota Look Back or wash-out period: 7 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

Criminal DUI Penalties in North Dakota

First DUI offense
(Class B Misdemeanor)

  • Fines of $500 if BAC is below 0.16% or less
  • Two days imprisonment and $750 fine if BAC is 0.16% or greater
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation
  • License suspension for 91 days if BAC is less than 0.18%
  • License suspension for 180 days if BAC is greater than 0.18%

Second DUI offense
(Within 7 years)
(Class B Misdemeanor)

  • 10 days imprisonment and $1,500 fine
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation
  • One year in the 24/7 program
  • License suspension for 365 days if BAC is less than 0.18%
  • License suspension for 2 years if BAC is greater than 0.18%

Third DUI offense
(Within 7 years)
(Class A Misdemeanor)

  • 120 day imprisonment and $2,000 fine
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation
  • One year supervised probation
  • One year in the 24/7 program
  • License suspension for 2 years if BAC is less than 0.18%
  • License suspension for 3 years if BAC is greater than 0.18%

 4th DUI offense
(Within 7 years)
(Class C Felony)

  • One year and one day imprisonment and $2,000 fine
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation
  • Two years supervised probation
  • One year in the 24/7 program
  • License suspension for 3 years

Administrative Penalties in North Dakota

Drivers in North Dakota have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

  • 1st offense: Driver's license revoked 1 year.
  • 2nd offense within 5 years: Driver's license revoked 3 years.
  • 3rd offense or greater within 5 years: Driver's license revoked 4 years.

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT). If you do not request a hearing within 10 days from the date you receive your Report and Notice Form your license will be automatically suspended within 25 days from the date you receive the form.

 

(Read more: - state laws )





Related Pages