Latest Article

Rhode Island DUI Information

Drivers convicted of DUI in Rhode Island face severe fines and penalties.

New Jersey DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of New Jersey for driving while intoxicated (DWI) will face severe DWI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

New Jersey DWI defined

It is illegal in the State of New Jersey for a person to operate a motorized vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher. Additionally, if you consume any amount of alcohol and your driving is negatively impacted or if you operate a motor vehicle under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit producing drug you can be convicted of drunk driving. You can also be convicted of a crime for allowing another person to operate a motor vehicle when that person does so in violation of the driving while intoxicated (DWI) law.

New Jersey Look Back or wash-out period: 10 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DWI penalties can be substantially increased.

Criminal DWI Penalties in New Jersey

First DWI offense
(Misdemeanor)
BAC 0.08%- 0.10%

  • Fines of $250-$400
  • Jail time for up to 30 days
  • Three month license suspension
  • A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years

First DWI offense
(Misdemeanor)
BAC greater than 0.10%

    • Fines of $300-$500
    • Jail time for up to 30 days
    • License suspension between 7 months and 1 year
    • A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
    • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
    • Offenders with a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher must install an ignition interlock device 

Second DWI offense
(Within 10 years) 

  • Fines of $500-$1,000
  • Jail time for at least 48 consecutive hours and up to 90 days
  • Two year license suspension
  • 48 consecutive hours detainment in a regional Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year to 3 years

Third DWI offense
(Within 10 years)

  • Fines of $1,000
  • Jail time for 180 days
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Detainment in an in-patient alcoholism treatment program
  • A fee to be paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for 3 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year to 3 years

Administrative Penalties in New Jersey

Drivers in New Jersey have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DWI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties which are administered by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DWI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

First chemical test refusal:

  • $300-$500 fine
  • License suspension of not less than 7 months or more than 1 year
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 6 months to 1 year

Second chemical test refusal:

  • $500-$1,000 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year to 3 years
  • $100 surcharge to be deposited in the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
  • Referral to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Third chemical test refusal:

  • $1,000 fine
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year to 3 years
  • $100 surcharge to be deposited in the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
  • Referral to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

 To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). If you do not request a hearing your license will be automatically suspended.

 

 

(Read more: - state laws )





Related Pages