Latest Article

Kentucky DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for DUI in Kentucky face high fines and penalties.

Nevada DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Nevada may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) and face jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension.

Nevada DUI defined

It is illegal in the State of Nevada to have physical control over a motorized vehicle if the driver is impaired by alcohol or drugs of if their blood alcohol content is 0.08% or higher or the driver’s blood contains more than the maximum amount of various illegal or prescription drugs than are allowed under Nevada law. More information can be found in the Nevada Statute NRS 484C.020

Nevada Look Back period: 7 years

If a driver’s second, third or fourth driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Nevada

First DUI offense:
(Misdemeanor)

  • Jail time up to six months (the court generally imposes a suspended sentence)
  • Mandatory completion of a court ordered alcohol and drug safety action education program
  • Fines of $1,000 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees
  • Mandatory attendance in a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Driver’s license suspension for 3 months
  • Potential mandatory installation of a ignition interlock device 

Second DUI offense:
(Within 7 years)
(Misdemeanor)

  • Jail time from 10 days up to six months (the judge may allow for home confinement)
  • Mandatory completion of a court ordered alcohol and drug safety action education program
  • Fines of $1,000 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees
  • Mandatory attendance in a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Mandatory attendance in a alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Driver’s license suspension for one year
  • Potential mandatory installation of a ignition interlock device
  • Possible 240 hours community service

Third DUI offense:
(Within 7 years)
(Can be classified as a
Class W Misdemeanor or Class III Felony charge – with high BAC) 

  • One to six years in a Nevada State Prison
  • Mandatory completion of a court ordered alcohol and drug safety action education program
  • Fines of $2,000 to $5,000 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees
  • Mandatory attendance in a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Mandatory attendance in a alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Driver’s license suspension for 3 years

Fourth DUI offense:
(Class III Felony charge)
 

  • One to six years in a Nevada State Prison
  • Mandatory completion of a court ordered alcohol and drug safety action education program
  • Fines up to $10,000 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees
  • Mandatory attendance in a MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • Mandatory attendance in a alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Possible vehicle immobilization
  • Driver’s license suspension for 15 years with possible ignition interlock device

Administrative Penalties in Nevada

Drivers in Nevada have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted for DUI.

Drivers who have their license suspended for refusing or failing a chemical test may have the legal right to request an administrative hearing to challenge their license suspension. Requests for hearings must be made within a specified date of the DUI arrest by contacting the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. Drivers who do not make the request will automatically have their license suspended.

Drivers who refuse or who fail the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

  • First test refusal – one year day driver’s license suspension
  • First test failure- 90 day driver’s license suspension

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages