Latest Article

Kentucky DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for DUI in Kentucky face high fines and penalties.

Nebraska DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Nebraska for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Nebraska DUI defined

It is illegal in the State of Nebraska for any person to operate or to be in the actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of any alcoholic liquor or any drug or to operate or be in actual physical control of vehicle when “such person has a concentration of eight-hundredths of one gram or more by weight of alcohol per one hundred milliliters of his or her blood; or when such person has a concentration of eight-hundredths of one gram or more by weight of alcohol per two hundred ten liters of his or her breath.” (Nebraska Revised Statute 60-6,196)

Nebraska Look Back or wash-out period: 15 years

If a driver’s second, third or fourth driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Nebraska

First DUI offense:
(Class W Misdemeanor)
(§ 28-106 & § 60-6,197.03)

  • Fines of $500
  • Imprisonment for a 7 to 60 days in jail
  • License suspension of six months
  • Possible Probation
  • Mandatory ignition interlock installation
  • Alcohol Assessment 

Second DUI offense:
(§ 28-106 & § 60-6,197.03 (3))

  • Fines of $500
  • Mandatory 30 days in jail up to a maximum of 90 days
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation
  • Possible probation
  • Mandatory driver’s license revocation for 18 months
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Alcohol Assessment

Third DUI offense:
(§ 28-106 & 60-6,197.03 (4))

  • Fines up to $1000
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory driver’s license revocation for 15 years
  • Mandatory 90 days to one year in jail
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Alcohol Assessment 

Fourth DUI offense
§ 28-105 & § 60-6,197.03 (7)
(Class IIIA Felony)

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Possible probation
  • Fifteen year driver’s license revocation
  • Jail time from 180 days up to five years
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Alcohol Assessment

Factors which can increase the potential penalties of a Nebraska DUI include the following:

  • Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above 0.15%
  • Causing serious injuries or death while under the influence
  • Driving with a suspended or revoked license at the time of the DUI arrest
  • Previous convictions of DUI
  • Age of the defendant

Nebraska Implied Consent Law

Drivers in Nebraska have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

Drivers who refuse or fail the chemical test or who have a BAC above the illegal limit will face the following administrative penalties:

  • First chemical test refusal- 1 year driver’s license suspension
  • First chemical test failure- 180 day driver’s license suspension

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting Nebraska Department Motor Vehicles.

Keep in mind, refusing the chemical test is considered a crime. Chemical test results are also not needed to convict a driver of DUI. In fact, drivers may be convicted for DUI with a BAC of any level if the judge or jury is convinced that they were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and were not able to safely operate their vehicle.

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages