Latest Article

Arkansas DUI Law Information

Arkansas drivers convicted of DUI face severe penalties.

Mississippi DUI Law Informatoin

Drivers arrested in the State of Mississippi for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential ignition interlock installation, and high fines.

Mississippi DUI defined

In the State of Mississippi is it (1) “It is unlawful for any person to drive or otherwise operate a vehicle within this state who (a) is under the influence of intoxicating liquor; (b) is under the influence of any other substance which has impaired such person's ability to operate a motor vehicle; (c) has an alcohol concentration of eight one-hundredths percent (.08%); (d) is under the influence of any drug or controlled substance, the possession of which is unlawful under the Mississippi Controlled Substances Law.” (Mississippi Statute § 63-11-30)

Mississippi Look Back or wash-out period: 5 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

First DUI offense:
(Misdemeanor)

  • Fines of $250 up to $1,000
  • Jail time of no more than 48 hours
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol safety education course
  • Participation in a victim impact panel in lieu of jail time
  • Driver’s license suspension of no less than 90 days or until the successful completion of the alcohol safety education program; a hardship license may be granted after 30 days for qualifying drivers

Second DUI offense
(Misdemeanor)
(Within 5 years)

  • Fines of $600 up to $1,500
  • Jail time of 5 days up to one year
  • Community service for no less than 10 days and up to one year
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol safety education course
  • Mandatory in-depth diagnostic assessment to determine if treatment of the alcohol and/or drug abuse problem is needed
  • Driver’s license suspension for 2 years
  • Potential installation of an ignition interlock device

Third DUI offense
(Felony)
(Within 5 years)

  • Fines of $2,000 up to $5,000
  • Jail time of one year up to five years
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • Community service for no less than 10 days up to one year
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol safety education course
  • Mandatory in-depth diagnostic assessment to determine if treatment of the alcohol and/or drug abuse problem is needed
  • Driver’s license suspension for 5 years
  • Potential installation of an ignition interlock device

Administrative Penalties in Mississippi

Drivers in Mississippi have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing within 10 days from date of the post mark of the letter of intent to suspend. To request a hearing the driver must contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS). A temporary license to drive is issued at the time of the DUI arrest and is only valid for forty-five days from the date of the DUI arrest.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

  • First refusal- 90 days
  • Second refusal- If first offense was a DUI: 1 year suspension of license. If first offense was a refusal to take test: 90 day license suspension.
  • Third refusal- If first or second offense was a DUI: 1 year suspension of license

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages