Latest Article

Arkansas DUI Law Information

Arkansas drivers convicted of DUI face severe penalties.

Michigan DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Michigan for operating while intoxicated (OWI) will face severe OWI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Michigan OWI defined

It is illegal in the State of Michigan to operate a motorized vehicle in any generally accessible area while intoxicated. The state defines OWI as “a person operating a motorized vehicle while who under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance” or as a person operating a motorized vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of “0.08 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine.” (Michigan Vehicle Code Section 257.625)

Michigan Look Back or wash-out period: Lifetime

Although Michigan does not specifically have a look back period, prior convictions within 7 years can lead to a second or third conviction or result in an extended license suspension. Due to the complexity of the law, it’s important to talk to an OWI lawyer for more information.

Criminal OWI Penalties in Michigan

First OWI offense:
(Misdemeanor)

  • Jail time up to 93 days
  • Fines up to $500
  • Suspension of the driver’s license for 30 days with an additional 150 days of restricted driving.
  • Community service for up to 360 hours
  • Mandatory completion of a court-approved alcohol and drug education program
  • Oversight, victim impact and responsibility fees which could be as high as $2000
  • Installation of a ignition interlock device with license reinstatement

Second OWI offense:
(Within 7 years)

  • Jail time from 5 days up to one year in prison
  • High fines
  • Suspension of the driver’s license for one year without a guarantee that you will have it reinstated
  • Community service up to 90 days
  • Mandatory completion of a court-approved alcohol and drug education program
  • Oversight, victim impact and responsibility fees which could be as high as $2000
  • Installation of a ignition interlock device with license reinstatement

Third OWI offense:
Felony Charge
(Within 7 of previous offense)

  • Prison term of one to five years
  • Fines from $500 to $5000
  • Vehicle immobilized for one to three years
  • Community service of 60 to 180 days
  • Mandatory completion of a court-approved alcohol and drug education program
  • Oversight, victim impact and responsibility fees which could be as high as $2000

Fourth DUI offense:
(Felony)

  • Prison sentence for up to 5 years with a minimum of 30 days in jail
  • Fines as high as $5,000
  • Mandatory completion of a court-approved alcohol and drug education program
  • Up to 80 days of community service
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • License revocation up to 5 years with no guarantee of reinstatement
  • Oversight, victim impact and responsibility fees which could be as high as $2000

Michigan’s Implied Consent Law

Drivers in Michigan have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for OWI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are enforced by Michigan’s Secretary of State and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of OWI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

  • First refusal- one year driver’s license suspension
  • Second refusal- two year driver’s license suspension
  • Third refusal- five year driver’s license suspension

To challenge an administrative license suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing within 14 days from the day of their arrest by contacting the Secretary of State, Driver Assessment and Appeal Division.

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages