Latest Article

Kentucky DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for DUI in Kentucky face high fines and penalties.

Louisiana DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Louisiana for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Louisiana DUI defined

In the State of Louisiana it is illegal to operate a vehicle if the individual is: 1) under the influence of alcoholic beverages; 2) the operator's blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or more by weight based on grams of alcohol per one hundred cubic centimeters of blood; 3) the operator is under the influence of any controlled dangerous substance; 4) the operator is under the influence of a combination of alcohol and one or more drugs that are not controlled dangerous substances and that are legally obtainable with or without a prescription.

Louisiana Look Back or wash-out period: 10 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Louisiana

First DUI offense:
(Misdemeanor)

  • Minimum fines of $300 up to $1,000
  • Minimum jail time of 10 days to 6 months. Some jail may be suspended if the defendant completes at least 32 hours of a court-approved community service activity.
  • Mandatory participation in a court-approved driver improvement program
  • Drivers license revocation with possible operation with ignition interlock device
  • Participation in a court-approved substance abuse program with an alcohol assessment
  • Up to 2 years probation (varies by court)
  • If BAC is over .20% drivers must serve at least 48 hours in jail, pay additional fines of $750 to $1,000, and install an ignition interlock device for at least 12 months.

Second DUI offense
(Misdemeanor)

  • Minimum 30 days to 6 months in jail and 48 hours cannot be suspended
  • Minimum $750 up to a maximum of $1,000
  • Minimum 30 days of community restitution
  • Mandatory participation in a court-approved driver improvement program
  • Mandatory participation in a court-approved substance abuse program with an alcohol assessment
  • Ignition interlock installation may be required for 6 months
  • If BAC is over .20% drivers must serve at least 96 hours in jail, pay additional fines of $1,000, have their driver’s license suspended for 4 years, and install an ignition interlock device in their car for 3 years.

Third DUI offense
(Felony)

  • Minimum one to five years in prison
  • Minimum $2,000 fine
  • Minimum 30 days of community service
  • Mandatory participation in a court-approved driver improvement program
  • Mandatory participation in a court-approved substance abuse program with an alcohol assessment
  • Ignition interlock installation may be required for 6 months
  • Potential for vehicle impoundment and sale of vehicle
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device

Administrative Penalties in Louisiana

Drivers in Louisiana have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing within 15 days from the date of their DUI arrest by contacting Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Drivers who refuse the chemical test or will face the following administrative penalties:

  • First refusal- 1 year license restriction with provisional license allowed
  • Second refusal- 2 year license restriction with provisional license allowed
  • Third refusal- 2 year license suspension, 2 days in jail or 32 hours of community service, substance abuse treatment

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages