Latest Article

Massachusetts DUI Law Information

Drivers convicted of OUI in Massachusetts face severe fines and penalties.

Idaho DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Idaho may be charged with DUI and face jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension.

Idaho DUI defined

It is illegal in the state of Idaho for any driver who is under the influence of alcohol, drugs or any other intoxicating substances, or any combination of alcohol, drugs and/or any other intoxicating substances, to drive or be in actual physical control of a motorized vehicle within the state. It is also illegal for a driver to be in actual physical control of motorized vehicle if their blood alcohol concentration is at or above 0.08%.

Commercial drivers may not be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above 0.04%. Drivers under the age of 21 cannot be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or higher.

Idaho Look Back period: 10 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Idaho

First DUI offense:
(Misdemeanor)

  • Sentenced up to 6 months in jail
  • 90 to 150 days license suspension. For the first 30 days there are absolutely no driving privileges of any kind allowed. After 30 days the suspension continues, although the driver may request a restricted license.
  • Driver's license reinstatement minimum fee of $25 to $285
  • Provide Financial Responsibility for 3 years (SR 22)

First DUI offense:
(BAC 0.20% or higher)

  • 10 to 365 days in jail
  • Fines up to $2,000
  • Drivers license suspension for one year following jail time

Second DUI offense:
(Within 10 years)
(Misdemeanor)

  • Mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail (the first 48 hours must be consecutive) up to one year in jail. The judge has some sentencing discretion and may assign the driver to a work detail program.
  • Fines up to $2,000
  • Drivers license revocation for at least one year after their release from confinement with absolutely no driving privileges
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device following the license suspension
  • Driver's license reinstatement of $25 to $285
  • Provide Financial Responsibility for 3 years (SR 22)

Second DUI offense:
(BAC 0.20% or higher)

  • 30 days to five years in prison
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • License suspension for one to five years following release from jail

Third DUI offense:
(Within 10 years)
(Felony)
 

  • 30 days to five years in jail (offenders required to serve the minimum)
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • Drivers license revocation up to 5 years, one year mandatory after release from confinement with no driving privileges of any kind.
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition interlock device
  • Driver's license reinstatement of $25 to $285
  • Provide Financial Responsibility for 3 years (SR 22)

Administrative Penalties in Idaho
(Idaho Code 18-8002)

Drivers in Idaho have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Idaho Department of Transportation and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted for DUI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test after a DUI arrest will be charged $250 and face a one year license suspension. Drivers who refuse a second test will have to pay another $250 fine and will have their driver’s license suspended for 2 years without the option for a restricted license.

Evidence of the chemical test refusal may also be admissible in all criminal and civil court cases which arise from the DUI arrest.

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages