Latest Article

Rhode Island DUI Information

Drivers convicted of DUI in Rhode Island face severe fines and penalties.

Hawaii DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Hawaii for driving under the influence (DUI) (also referred to as a Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence of an Intoxicant (OVUII)) will face severe DUI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Hawaii DUI defined

In Hawaii a person commits the offense of operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant if the person “operates or assumes actual physical control of a vehicle: (1) While under the influence of alcohol in an amount sufficient to impair the person's normal mental faculties or ability to care for the person and guard against casualty; (2) While under the influence of any drug that impairs the person's ability to operate the vehicle in a careful and prudent manner; (3) With .08 or more grams of alcohol per two hundred ten liters of breath; or (4) With .08 or more grams of alcohol per one hundred milliliters or cubic centimeters of blood.” Hawaii Statute § 291E-61. Operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant

Hawaii Look Back or wash-out period: 5 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Hawaii

First DUI offense
(Misdemeanor)

  • 48 hours to five days in jail
  • Community service may be ordered in lieu or in addition to jail time
  • Fines of $150 to $1,000
  • License suspension of 90 days to one year
  • At least 14 hours of alcohol abuse program participation
  • Additional license suspension requirements with high BAC

Second DUI offense
(Misdemeanor)
(Within 5 years)

  • Up to 14 days in jail
  • Community service may be ordered in lieu or in addition to jail time
  • Fines up to $1,500
  • License suspension for one year
  • Mandatory alcohol abuse program participation
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Additional license suspension requirements with high BAC

Third DUI offense
(Within 5 years)

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Community service may be ordered in lieu or in addition to jail time
  • Fines up to $2,500
  • License suspension for five years
  • Mandatory alcohol abuse program participation
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Additional license suspension and jail requirements with high BAC

Administrative Penalties in Hawaii

Drivers in Hawaii have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties which are administered by the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DWI.

If a person is arrested in Hawaii for DUI the arresting officer will confiscate their driver’s license and issue them a "Notice of Revocation". This notice will serve as the driver’s temporary driving permit for the next 30 days.

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing by contacting the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles. If you do not request a hearing your license will be automatically suspended.

If you request the hearing and the Administrative Driver's License Revocation Office determines the arresting officer’s original revocation of your driver's license was not justified they will mail your driver's license and plates back to you no later than 25 days from the date of your arrest.

If the Administrative Driver's License Revocation Office determines there was justification to suspend your license you have six days to request an in-person hearing.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test will face the following administrative penalties:

First chemical test refusal: License suspension for one year
Second chemical test refusal: License suspension for two years
Third chemical test refusal: License suspension for four years