Latest Article

Massachusetts DUI Law Information

Drivers convicted of OUI in Massachusetts face severe fines and penalties.

Arizona DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Arizona for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Arizona DUI defined

Arizona drivers are prohibited from being in actual physical control of a vehicle if they are under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination of liquor, drugs or vapor releasing substances if the person is impaired to the slightest degree or if their blood alcohol concentration is of 0.08% or more within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle (Arizona Statute 28-1381 Driving or actual physical control while under the influence).

Arizona Look Back or wash-out period: 7 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Arizona

Arizona has graduated DUI fines and penalties which vary based on the driver’s BAC at the time of the DUI arrest. Specifically, a driver can be charged with DUI (0.08% to .15%), Extreme DUI (BAC of .15% to .20%), Super Extreme (BAC of .20% or more), and DUI Illicit Drug Metabolite in your body.

First DUI offense:
(Class 1 Misdemeanor)

  • Minimum fine of $250 up to $2,500
  • Minimum jail time of 24 hours up to 10 consecutive days (mandatory)
  • Drivers license revocation for 90 to 360 days
  • Potential court ordered community restitution
  • Ignition interlock installation required for at least 12 months after license reinstatement
  • Possible completion of court ordered alcohol or other drug screening, education or treatment program
  • Additional $500 assessment to the state

Second DUI offense within 7 years:
(Class 1 Misdemeanor)

  • Minimum 30 to 90 days, 30 days must be served consecutively
  • Minimum $500 fine but up to $2,500
  • Minimum 30 hours of community restitution
  • Drivers license revocation for 1 year
  • Additional fines of $1,250 paid to the state
  • Ignition interlock installation required for at least 12 months after license reinstatement
  • Potential attendance in an alcohol abuse court referral program
    (if completed the driver may have all but 30 days of the jail sentence suspended)

Aggravated DUI Penalties

Drivers who are convicted of DUI while operating a motorized vehicle with a revoked, canceled, or suspended license or who commit a DUI within 7 years of their second DUI can be charged with an aggravated DUI.

  • Prison sentence of no more than 2 years
  • Mandatory license revocation for at least 3 years
  • Mandatory alcohol, education, and treatment program
  • Mandatory community service
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device

Administrative Penalties in Arizona

Drivers in Arizona have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test or who have a BAC above the illegal limit will face the following administrative penalties:

First refusal

  • 1 year license restriction with provisional license allowed after 90 days
  • Potential installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Potentially required to undergo an alcohol and substance abuse screening and counseling program

Blood Alcohol Concentration at or above 0.08%

  • Mandatory 90 day license suspension (restricted license after 30 days)

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing within a specified number of days from the date of their DUI arrest by contacting the Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT).

(Read more: - state laws )



Related Pages