Latest Article

Arkansas DUI Law Information

Arkansas drivers convicted of DUI face severe penalties.

Alaska DUI Law Information

Drivers arrested in the State of Alaska for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) will face severe DUI penalties including potential jail time, a driver’s license suspension, potential mandatory ignition interlock installation, and fines.

Alaska DUI defined

Alaska defines driving under the influence (DUI) as operating a vehicle, aircraft, or watercraft while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, controlled substance, or inhalant. Drivers may be arrested automatically for DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher or if there is evidence the driver is not able to safely operate their vehicle, regardless of their BAC.

Commercial drivers may be arrested with a BAC of 0.04% and drivers under the age of 21 may be arrested with a BAC over 0.00%.

Alaska Look Back or wash-out period: 10 years

If a driver’s second or third driving infraction occurs during the look back period the DUI penalties can be substantially increased. The date begins on the date of the first DUI arrest.

Criminal DUI Penalties in Alaska

First DUI offense: (Class A Misdemeanor)

  • Minimum jail time of 72 consecutive hours (mandatory)
  • Minimum $1,500 fine
  • Drivers license revocation for 90 days, although drivers may request a limited provisional license after 60 days
  • Potential restrictions on purchasing alcohol
  • Ignition interlock installation required for 12 months after license reinstatement
  • Possible completion of alcohol abuse court referral program
  • Mandatory drug and alcohol evaluation
  • Alaska SR22 insurance required for 5 years

Second DUI offense: (Class A Misdemeanor)

  • Mandatory 20 days in jail
  • Minimum $3,000 fine
  • Drivers license revocation for 1 year with limited provisional license available after 90 days
  • Alaska SR22 insurance required for 10 years
  • Ignition interlock installation required for 24 months after license reinstatement
  • Potential attendance in an alcohol abuse court referral program
  • Mandatory drug and alcohol education evaluation
  • Potentially prohibited from purchasing alcohol for a specific period of time 

Third DUI offense: (Potential Class A Misdemeanor or Felony)


Conviction occurred more than 10 years ago

  • Minimum of 60 days in jail (offenders required to serve the minimum)
  • Fines of at least $4,000
  • Drivers license revocation for 3 years
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition interlock device on the vehicle for 3 years following the drivers license reinstatement
  • Possible completion of a drug or alcohol abuse program
  • Mandatory attendance in a drug or alcohol evaluation program
  • Alaska SR22 insurance requirements for 20 years
  • Possible restrictions on purchasing alcohol for a specified time period

Conviction within the last 10 years (Class C Felony)

  • Minimum of at least 120 days in jail
  • Fines of at least $10,000
  • Drivers license revoked permanently, although some drivers may be allowed to reinstate their license after 10 years under specific conditions
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock device required throughout the entire probationary period
  • Mandatory drug and alcohol evaluation
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • Potentially prohibited purchasing alcohol for a specified time period
  • Possible required attendance in a drug or alcohol treatment program
  • Alaska SR22 insurance required for 20 years

Fourth DUI offense within the last 10 years: (Class C Felony)

  • Minimum, mandatory 240 days in jail
  • Minimum fine of at least $10,000
  • Drivers license revoked permanently, although some drivers may be allowed to reinstate their license after 10 years under specific conditions
  • Ignition interlock device required throughout the entire probationary period
  • Mandatory drug and alcohol evaluation
  • Vehicle forfeiture\
  • Potentially prohibited from purchasing alcohol for a specified time period
  • Possible required attendance in a drug or alcohol treatment program
  • Alaska SR22 insurance required for life

Administrative Penalties in Alaska

Drivers in Alaska have given their implied consent to submit to a chemical test if they have been arrested for DUI. Failure to consent to the required testing may result in administrative penalties, which are administered by the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and are imposed regardless of whether the driver is ultimately convicted of DUI.

Drivers who refuse the chemical test or who have a BAC above the illegal limit will face the following administrative penalties:

  • First refusal- 90 day license suspension
  • Second refusal- 12 month license suspension if the driver has a prior conviction or refusal
  • Third refusal- 3 year license suspension if the driver has two prior convictions for DUI or refusals
  • Fourth refusal- 5 year license suspension if the driver has three or more prior DUI convictions or refusals 

To challenge an administrative suspension, drivers must request an administrative hearing within 7 days from the date of their DUI arrest by contacting the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

 

 

(Read more: - DUI Law - state laws )



Related Pages