How to Get Your Driver's License Back After a Wisconsin DUI Conviction
If you’ve been convicted of a Driving Under the Influence charge in the state of Wisconsin, then you’ll face a driver’s license suspension as a part of your punishment. The length of the driver’s license suspension will depend on how many past DUI convictions you have, the level of your blood alcohol content at the time of arrest, and other factors. When your driver’s license suspension is over, you’ll need to follow certain procedures to get it reinstated.
Steps to Getting Your Wisconsin Driver’s License Reinstated
To start the process of reinstatement, you need to write a letter including your full name, birth date, driver’s license number, Social Security number, current address, and a check for $50. Send it to:
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Driver Information Section
4802 Sheboygan Ave., Room 301
P.O. Box 7983
Madison, WI 53707-7983
You may also need to provide proof of insurance. If you still have your driver’s license, you should call the DMV to ensure they received your $50. If so, you can legally drive again.
If you do not currently have your driver’s license in your possession, you need to visit your local DMV service center to complete a Driver’s License Application for renewal, show ID with a photo and signature, and pay the $50 reinstatement fee as well as a $4 for a duplicate or $24 for renewal. You’ll also need to file the SR22 proof of insurance if required.
SR-22 Insurance Filing Requirements
Many people believe that SR-22 is a special type of insurance, but it is really just a form that states that you have the minimum amount of insurance required for DUI offenders in Wisconsin. You can find out if you need to adjust your car insurance liability policy by contacting your insurance carrier. They will also be able to file the appropriate SR-22 forms with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation. You must keep this insurance up for the required time, or your carrier will inform the state of your cancellation or missed payment. This can result in an additional driver’s license suspension or other penalties. You can learn more about SR-22 insurance requirements on the Wisconsin DOT website.
Ignition Interlock Device Requirements
If you have a previous DUI conviction, are a first-time offender with a blood alcohol content of .15 or higher, or refused a breath or blood test, you can be required to have an ignition interlock device on your car. You will be responsible for the cost of installation and regular maintenance. The device works by requiring that you pass a breath test before your car’s engine will start and also as you drive your car. If you fail a “rolling” test, your car will sound an alarm. The alarm will only stop when you pull over and stop the engine. You can learn more about the ignition interlock program here.
Get More Information on Wisconsin Driver’s License Reinstatement
Do you still have questions about your driver’s license reinstatement? The process can be confusing, and if you are dealing with multiple past DUI convictions, very high blood alcohol content, or a case involving a fatality, you may find it more difficult. In these situations, it can be to your benefit to talk to a Wisconsin DUI lawyer. He or she can ensure that you follow the procedures, so you can get your driver’s license back as soon as possible. If you need to make a case that it is safe for the public for you to drive again, they can help you prepare the necessary documentation.
You can also learn more about your case and the requirements you must meet by contacting the Wisconsin Department of Transportation at the address above or by calling (608) 266-2261 or TTY (608) 267-0340. You can also email firstname.lastname@example.org.