How to Get Your Driver's License Back After a New York DUI Conviction

 

If you have your driver’s license suspended, there are steps you must take to be able to drive legally using your license again. If it has been revoked, then your driver’s license has actually been canceled. You will need to reapply for a whole new license once your revocation period is over. The steps you will need to take depend on your situation. If you have questions, it is advisable to talk to a New York DUI attorney.

 

Procedure for Reinstatement after a Driver’s License Suspension

 

To reinstate your license for a first-time DUI offense, you must serve your suspension period and/or prison sentence, pay a $50 suspension termination fee, and Driver Responsibility Assessment. Then go to your local DMV office to apply for reinstatement. In most cases, you will not need to apply for a new driver license.

 

If you are unsure if your restoration has been processed, do not drive. Contact the DMV to verify first.

 

Procedure for Reinstatement after a Driver’s License Revocation

 

Before you can get a new driver’s license, you must receive approval from the DMV Driver Improvement Unit. You must wait until your revocation period has been completely served, and then you can submit the request online. If you want to apply via mail, you must wait 30 days before the revocation period ends, and then it can take 12 weeks to process the request. Normally, a re-application fee of $100 is required.

 

If your driver’s license has been suspended as well as revoked, then you must resolve those issues as well. If you owe any suspension termination fees or civil penalties, you will have to pay these to the DMV. When you submit a request for approval online, the form will let you know of any payments you need to make. Once you have been approved, you can then apply for a new driver’s license at your local DMV Office.

 

Restricted Driver’s License in New York

 

The only way you may be eligible for a restricted license before your suspension period is over is if you enroll in the Drinking Driver Program. You do not need to contact the DMV to find out if you qualify. You will receive a letter mailed with the notice that tells you if you are eligible. If so, you can read the online brochure which explains the DDP program and conditional licenses. Read more about conditional or restricted driver licenses here.

 

Ignition Interlock Device

 

In some cases, the DMV will place an Ignition Interlock Restriction on your license. This means that you can only drive a vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed. You will be responsible for all costs associated with installing and maintaining the device.

 

Learn More about Driver’s License Reinstatement After a New York DUI

 

For special situations, talk to your New York DUI lawyer to find out the specifics of your case. It can be particularly beneficial to consult a lawyer if you have multiple past DUI convictions or a case involving very high blood alcohol content. You can also see detailed instructions about driver’s license restoration on the New York DMV site here. Or you can contact a specific unit of the DMV with questions:


Driver Improvement Unit
(or Medical Review Unit)
NYS DMV
Room 220
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228


DIU Phone Hours M-F 8:30 - Noon
MRU Phone Hours M-F 8:00 - Noon
1-518-474-0774
(Option #5 for DIU, # 3 for MRU)


DIU FAX 1-518-474-6208
MRU FAX 1-518-402-2991

Insurance Services Bureau

NYS DMV
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228

ISB Phone Hours M-F 8:30 - 4:15
1-518-474-0700
 

Share |