How to Get Your Driver's License Back After a Kentucky DUI Conviction
In the state of Kentucky, those who are convicted of a DUI will either have their license suspended or revoked. This means you cannot drive for the length of time that the court orders. In some cases, it will also mean that you will have to forfeit your license plates. Once that time is up, there are steps you need to take in order to get your driver’s license back.
What to Do to Reinstate Your Kentucky Driver’s License
First you’ll need to complete all the requirements that were given to you by the court. This may include jail time, community service hours, counseling, and fines. You may also need to provide proof of completing an alcohol treatment program.
Once all those requirements have been met, you need to pay a $40 reinstatement fee to your local driver licensing field office or Circuit Court Clerk’s office. Checks should be made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer, or you can pay with an American Express, Visa, Mastercard, or Discover as well as certain debit cards.
You can also do so online through the Kentucky Driver License Reinstatement System. You will need to have your driver license number available, which can be found on the letter from the Division of Driver Licensing.
If you no longer have your driver’s license, you need to go to the Circuit Clerks’ offices to get a new driver’s license. If you are trying to get a license in another state, be aware that it can take up to 24 hours for your driving status to be updated in the National Driving Registry system.
Under certain circumstances, you may be eligible for a hardship license before you suspension period is complete. You will have to prove that you have no alternate transportation available and that it will adversely affect your employment, medical care, schooling, or children. You will only be able to drive under the limited circumstances set out by the court. If you drive otherwise, the hardship driver’s license will be taken away, and it can affect the reinstatement of your driver’s license in the future.
Ignition Interlock Devices
In some cases, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. You will be responsible for the costs associated with installation as well as maintenance. This device works by requiring that you pass a breathalyzer test before the car will start and also occasionally as you drive. If you fail a breathalyzer test while driving, for safety reasons the car won’t stop running, but it will sound an alarm that won’t stop until you pull over and shut off the engine. The device will also record any incidents which can be used against you in any reinstatement proceedings.
Driving History Records
It can be useful to get your driving history records, which includes your driver status, license expiration, driving resitration, and traffic violations as you go through this process. It may answer some questions you have about what is going on with your driver’s license. In order to get it, you will have to pay $3 per record as well as an additional electronic access fee of $2. You can get the information on this website.
For More Information
If you still have questions about the process, you can visit the Kentucky Driver License Reinstatement System, email email@example.com, or call (502) 564-1257. For legal advice specific to your situation, you should get in contact with a Kentucky DUI lawyer. It can be particularly beneficial to have help with the driver’s license reinstatement process if you have been convicted of multiple DUIs. The process can be more complicated, and you want to ensure that you follow all the measures correctly.