Select the city below you need a DUI Attorney for: View All Cities
- Avondale Estates
- Ball Ground
- Berkeley Lake
- Big Canoe
- Blue Ridge
- Bowdon Junction
- Box Springs
Search for a Georgia DUI Lawyer online – We help you understand Georgia DUI Law
Are you facing Georgia DUI penalty? Then you are probably afraid to go to jail, afraid to lose your driver's license and your personal freedom and afraid to have a criminal record for life and put your future, your career and your family at stake. At such a time, it is probably a good idea to take your DUI charges very seriously and avoid any harsh and regrettable actions. Instead, you should think wisely and hire an experienced and helpful Georgia DUI lawyer who can educate you about the DUI process and penalties in Georgia and plead your case in the best possible way. Remember to deal with your DUI case very carefully and wisely, otherwise you may be facing long consequences that can seriously hamper your future prospects. A Georgia DUI lawyer who is experienced in drunk driving defense can make a great difference in the outcome of your case and the penalties you will have to face. So don't waste precious time and start looking for a DUI lawyer in Georgia.
Like other states in the US, Driving Under Influence is a serious offense and can be punishable by law in different ways depending upon the seriousness of the offense and the frequency of it. Under the Georgia DUI law, 0.08 percent is the legal alcohol limit in your body but even if you have a 0.05 and above percentage of alcohol in your body which causes you to maneuver your vehicle dangerously, you can still be arrested and charged for DUI. Usually, after getting arrested for DUI, you will be taken to the police station for further inspection, chemical and urine tests, finger prints and your driver's license will be taken. Then you will be given a date for your court hearing where you will hear the charges filed against you. At this point, it is preferable to have an experienced Georgia DUI attorney represent you at the hearing; this attorney should be hired well before time so that he or she can take care of all the time requirements and investigate into your case well before the hearing. Although, your attorney can help you understand your particular case better, following are the penalties for different DUI cases:
Georgia DUI FIRST OFFENSE: At your first offense, if your blood alcohol content is more than 0.08%, a minimum of 24 hours in jail is mandatory along with a fine of $300 to $1000. Apart from that, according to the judge's sentence, you can stay in jail from 10 days up to one year. You will also have to perform community service of 20 hours if you BAC in under 0.08% and 40 hours if BAC is higher. Your driver's license will also be suspended; for one year if you are over 21 years of age and for 6 months if you are under 21 years of age and with BAC under 0.08% but if BAC is greater than 0.08% then license suspension will be for one year.
Georgia DUI SECOND OFFENSE within 10 years: If your DUI offense is the second one within 10 years span of time, then you will be facing a fine of $600 to $1000 and a mandatory 72 hours of jail time apart from a stay in jail ranging from 90 days up to one year. Your driver's license will also be suspended, usually for 3 years. There will be a one year hard suspension and then you will be given a work permit for 6 months and if there are no violations, you will be eligible for reinstatement after the work permit. Community service is also mandatory for at least 30 days and a mandatory Drug Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program and other charges as specified by the judge.
Georgia DUI THIRD OFFENSE within 10 years: For a Georgia DUI offense committed a third time within 10 years, you will face a fine of between $1000 and $5000. Your jail time will range from 120 days to one year with a mandatory stay of 15 days minimum. Your license suspension can be for up to 5 years with a 2 year hard suspension, a 6 month ignition interlock permit and a reinstatement of probationary driver's license if other charges are properly fulfilled like DUI school, treatment etc. You will be eligible for full reinstatement after 5 years.
Georgia DUI FOURTH OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE within 10 years: If you are facing a DUI offense for the fourth time within 10 years, you will have to pay a fine ranging from $1000 to $5000, a jail stay ranging from one to 5 years and a mandatory stay of 90 days minimum. Your license suspension will be for 5 years and you will have to perform community service for at least 60 days as well as other charges as imposed by the judge.
To fully understand the penalties associated with a Georgia DUI charge, it is strongly recommended that you consult with a Georgia DUI lawyer that you are most comfortable with and who can knowledgeably represent you throughout your trial and court proceedings. You can find a Georgia drunk driving attorney by typing in the city of your arrest above or call our 24 hour DUI hotline