What happens when you Get a DUI in Arizona

 

If you get arrested with a DUI charge in Arizona it could result in different outcomes subject to your criminal history, circumstances and factors related to DUI charges filed against you, and the prevailing DUI laws of the state.

 

Like in any other state of the US a DUI charge in Arizona is considered to be a serious offence, I’ll take you through the most probable outcomes of the sentence, but let me first give you an idea about the factors on which your DUI case would depend.

 

Consequences of refusal to giving a test (BAC or any other test as chosen by the authorities)

 

As DUI refers to driving under the influence alcohol or drugs, the tests chosen by the authorities are not restricted to just BAC, the tests could range from urine tests, breath tests, blood tests or tests of other bodily substances.

 

If you refuse a test in Arizona your driving license will be suspended for a period of 12 months, on your second or subsequent refusal to a test your driving license will be suspended for 2 years.

 

In addition to the suspension of your driving license there are other consequences also, like denial to a request for temporary driving license or permit.

 

The admissible BAC levels in Arizona

 

If the test results show that you have a BAC of 0.08 (or more) while driving a non-commercial vehicle or if your BAC is 0.04 while driving a commercial vehicle, I am pretty much sure that you’ll be charged for a DUI in Arizona.

 

In case of minors the law is even harsher, even on finding traces of alcohol in your system you can be charged for DUI.

 

Professional Help

 

If you are arrested and charged for DUI in Arizona, you have to take it seriously, in order to make sure that the outcome is in your best possible interest, hiring experienced local defense well versed with the local law is an option second to none. By hiring an experienced DUI lawyer you can maximize the chances of getting your DUI expunged and hence minimize the chances of being arrested for DUI.

 

Possible DUI penalties in Arizona

 

The outcome of your DUI case depends on several factors and circumstances like, past history, your test results, prevailing law and severity of your DUI charges.

 

A DUI conviction can differ case by case so the penalties I am listing are the possibilities which may or may not apply to individual cases, again depending on the different circumstances and factors, the court has the discretion of sentencing any of them in any combination.

 

First time offense (less severe) may result in

 

  • A jail time of minimum 10 day, can extend to 6 months
  • Suspension of your driving license up to 90 days
  • Fines (courts discretion) Starting $250
  • Court charges
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device at your expense
  • Attending and completion of alcohol education course
  • Potential community service

 

Increased Penalties for more severe DUI (BAC of .15% or more)

 

  • Minimum 30-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $250 fine
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device at the violator’s expense
  • Possible court assessment fees totaling over $2,000
  • Potential community service

 

Second Offense (less severe within 5 years of the first offense) may result in

 

  • A jail time of not less than 90 days
  • Fines (courts discretion) starting with a minimum of $500
  • One year driver's license suspension
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device at your expense
  • Possible court assessment fees totaling over $2,000
  • 30 hours of community service

 

Second more severe DUI Offense (within 84 months)

 

  • A jail time of not less than 120 days
  • Fines (courts discretion) starting with a minimum of $500
  • At least one year driver's license suspension
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device at your expense
  • Possible court assessment fees totaling over $2,000
  • A minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Misdemeanor conviction

 

Penalties for Refusing a Breath Test

 

  • On first refusal: 12 months suspended license
  • On second or subsequent refusal: 2 years suspended license
Share |