Watch Out! You May Have Less Than 10 Days To Fight Losing Your Driver's License

Charged with DUI in Arizona? Hire an Arizona DUI Lawyer who understands Arizona DWI Laws.

According to Arizona DUI Laws, drunk driving charges are considered a serious criminal offense and a DUI conviction in Arizona can have long lasting consequences. Getting arrested for DUI / DWI in Arizona can have life-changing consequences, so it’s critical to have a skilled DUI lawyer with experience defending both misdemeanor and felony DUI / DWI charges on the driver’s side.

Therefore, if charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Arizona, you should immediately hire an Arizona DUI attorney who understands Arizona DUI laws to defend your case.

Arizona Drunk Driving Laws

  • BAC level of 0.08 or more will result in to a DUI
  • If you are a commercial driver, the allowed BAC level for you is less than 0.04
  • For drivers under the age of 21, there is a zero tolerance level and you will be convicted for a DUI if there are traces of alcohol in your blood.

Arizona Drunk Driving Penalties

Drinking and driving can lead to severe consequences in Arizona, it is unlawful for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more within two hours of driving.

In Arizona, you can face severe penalties for a DUI conviction depending on the type of DUI that was charged, and on the Defendant's criminal record. A previous DUI counts as a prior for the purposes of Sentencing if it occurred within 7 years (84 months) of the current arrest.

There are different levels of offenses, depending upon your BAC level. According to a research, 0.05 % of BAC level can leave most drivers “impaired”, therefore 0.08% is considered as a standard measurement for DUI conviction.

 

First DUI Offense (Non-Extreme) With A BAC Of At least 0.08 And Less Than 0.15

Jail Time: First Arizona DUI offense (non-extreme) can lead up to a minimum jail time of 1-10 days and up to a maximum jail time of 6 months.

License Suspension: Your license will be suspended for 90 days. And you will be eligible for a work permit after 30 days.

Ignition Interlock Device: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense for 1 year.

Fine: You will have to pay a fine of $1450 - $2000.

Counseling: You will be asked to undergo drug / alcohol screening and depending upon the results a therapy will be advised. Probation: 5 years maximum.

Community Service: You will be asked to perform community service as advised by the court.

 

Second DUI Offense (Non-Extreme) With A BAC Of At least 0.08 And Less Than 0.15

Second DUI offense in Arizona occurs when you are charged for a DUI within 5 years of previous conviction.

Jail Time: Second Arizona DUI offense (non-extreme) can lead up to a minimum jail time of 1 month and up to a maximum jail time of 6 months.

License Suspension: Your license will be revoked for 1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense.

Fine: You will have to pay a fine of $3400 or more, depending upon jail costs, evaluation costs, probation fees and treatment costs.

Counseling: You will be asked to undergo drug / alcohol screening and depending upon the results a therapy will be advised.

Probation: 5 years maximum.

Community Service: You will be asked to perform community service as advised by the court.

 

Third DUI Offense In Arizona (Class 4 Felony)

Third DUI offense in Arizona is considered as a class 4 felony and it occurs when you are charged for a DUI within 7 years of previous conviction. Third DUI offense can lead to very severe penalties and it should be avoided.

Jail Time: Third Arizona DUI offense can lead up to a minimum jail time of 4 months.

License Suspension: Your license will be revoked for 1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense.

Fine: You will have to pay a fine of $4500 - $10,000 or more, depending upon jail costs, evaluation costs, probation fees and treatment costs.

Counseling: You will be asked to undergo complete drug / alcohol screening and you will be asked to join drug / alcohol treatment program.

Probation: 5 years maximum.

 

Extreme DUI Convictions Arizona

First DUI Offense (Extreme) With A BAC Of At least 0.15 And Less Than 0.20

Jail Time: You will be sentenced to jail for 30 days minimum and up to a maximum jail time of 6 months.

License Suspension: Your license will be suspended for 90 days. And you will be eligible for a work permit after 30 days.

Ignition Interlock Device: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense for 1 year.

Fine: You will have to pay a fine of $2500 or more, depending upon jail costs, evaluation costs, probation fees and treatment costs.

Counseling: You will be asked to undergo drug / alcohol screening and depending upon the results a therapy will be advised.

Probation: 5 years maximum.

Community Service: You will be asked to perform community service as advised by the court.

 

Second DUI Offense (Extreme) With A BAC Of At least 0.15 And Less Than 0.20

Second DUI offense (extreme) in Arizona occurs when you are charged for a DUI within 5 years of previous conviction.

Jail Time: Second Arizona DUI offense (extreme) can lead up to a minimum jail time of 3 months and up to a maximum jail time of 6 months.

License Suspension: Your license will be revoked for 1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device: You will be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense.

Fine: You will have to pay a fine of $3500 or more, depending upon jail costs, evaluation costs, probation fees and treatment costs.

Counseling: You will be asked to undergo drug / alcohol screening and depending upon the results a therapy will be advised.

Probation: 5 years maximum.

Community Service: You will be asked to perform community service as advised by the court.

 

To fully understand the penalties associated with an Arizona DUI charge, it is strongly recommended that you consult with an Arizona DUI lawyer that you are most comfortable with and who can knowledgeably represent you throughout your trial and court proceedings.  You can find an Arizona drunk driving attorney by typing in the city of your arrest above or call our 24 hour DUI hotline

Additional Resources