How to Get Your Driver's License Back After an Alabama DUI Conviction
In order to reinstate your driver’s license after your suspension period ends, you must have completed all court ordered requirements, including paying fines and court fees, serving jail time, and attending counseling. If not, you may have to return to court and may face jail time for failure to comply.
If you are not sure what requirements you must meet, you can file a Request for Reinstatement Requirements. Then they will send you a list of requirements in the mail. If you have any concerns about being able to meet the requirements or are confused about what you need to do, your best avenue is to contact an Alabama DUI attorney who can help you go through the process successfully.
SR-22 Car Insurance Forms for Alabama DUI Conviction
You must also file an SR-22 insurance form to prove financial responsibility. SR-22 is not a special kind of car insurance. Instead, it’s a form to prove that you met the specific insurance requirements for those who have been convicted of an Alabama DUI. You can contact your insurance provider in order to update your policy if necessary, and they can file the SR-22 form with the state. This must be maintained for a 3 year period after reinstatement.
When you are ready with those requirements, you must visit an Alabama driver’s license office with the required fee. The state does not accept personal checks. Only certain locations handle this.
- Alabama Driver’s License Office Locations That Handle Reinstatement
- Birmingham Driver License Office: 908 Bankhead Highway W.
- Dothan Driver License Office: 5679 Montgomery Highway
- Foley Driver License Office: 201 E. Section Ave., Baldwin County Satellite Courthouse
- Huntsville Driver License Office: 1115-A Church St. N.W.
- Jacksonville Driver License Office: 1703 Pelham Road S.
- Mobile Driver License Office: 3400 Demetropolis Road
- Montgomery Department of Public Safety Annex: 301 South Ripley St.
- Opelika Driver License Office: 611 S. Railroad Ave.
- Sheffield Driver License Office: 4500 Hatch Blvd.
- Tuscaloosa Driver License Office: 2645 Skyland Blvd.
You can also call 334-242-4400 and follow their menu options. For a list of all phone numbers for the driver license division, visit the Alabama Department of Public Safety website.
Here are the fees you may have to pay for Alabama DUI offenses:
Suspended drivers license: $275
Revoked drivers license: $275
Additional drug-related fee: $25
These fees are double the normal fees for reinstatement of driver’s licenses that are for an offense that is not drug or alcohol related.
If you’d like to get a copy of your driver record, it will cost $5.75 and may be purchased using the Crash Report Request Form. Learn more about Alabama reinstatement fees, driver records, and crash reports.
Be aware that if your driver’s license was revoked or if it was suspended for over a year, you will need to take the driving tests, including the vision test, the road test, and the knowledge test, again.
Additionally, if you have been convicted of an Alabama DUI, you will be required to use an ignition interlock device for a period of time.
If your license has been revoked, reinstatement is not automatic. If you have been convicted of multiple DUIs in Alabama or an aggravated DUI, it may be a harder process. In these cases, it is best to hire an Alabama DUI lawyer who has experience working with clients to get their licenses back.
Restricted or Hardship Driver’s Licenses in Alabama
Alabama only offers restricted driver’s licenses to first-time offenders and only if the court deems the defendant not a risk to the public. If you have a previous Alabama DUI offense, you will not be eligible for any hardship or restricted driver’s license. Often the best course is to hire an Alabama DUI lawyer to work with you.