Select the city below you need a DUI Attorney for: View All Cities
- Beersheba Springs
- Bell Buckle
- Bethel Springs
- Big Rock
- Bloomington Springs
- Bluff City
- Bon Aqua
- Brush Creek
- Buena Vista
- Buffalo Valley
- Bulls Gap
- Bumpus Mills
MyDUIAttorney has a list of Tennessee DUI Lawyers – Hire a DUI lawyer to defend your case
Drunk driving or DUI allegations can seriously impact your future and career opportunities; such an allegation can also bring about immense amount of pressure and anxiety on you because of the uncertainty of your freedom and the threat of being sent to jail, facing heavy fines and your driver’s license suspension. DUI charges can lead you to seriously think about your future driving privileges, getting a criminal record and even losing your driver’s license. First and foremost, you need to arm yourself with as much information about DUI laws in Tennessee as possible so that you can identify your particular case and the laws applicable to it. Then you should seriously consider hiring a professional Tennessee DUI lawyer who will represent you in your case and with his or her experience and knowledge be able to bring you out of your DUI charges without much damage or without incurring too many losses.
A DUI lawyer can make a difference between strict charges against you and charges that are subject to changes such as probation which can greatly reduce the burden of DUI on you. The first thing you need to know about DUI in Tennessee is that any person having a Blood Alcohol Content of 0.08 is in violation of Tennessee DUI laws if they are operating any kind of vehicle. Aggravating factors such as driving dangerously and refusing to get a chemical test taken can also lead to DUI charges even if your BAC is less than 0.08. Because all DUI cases are unique and composed of different facts, we suggest you strongly to get professional help from your DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
Common penalties and charges for DUI in Tennessee are as follows:
First offense: A driver who has been convicted of DUI for the first time which be charged with a fine of $350 to $1500 and will have to spend between two days to one year in jail. The driver will also have to face license suspension for one year.
Second Offense: A driver that has been convicted of DUI for the second time in ten years will be fined $600 to $3500 and will have to face jail time of 45 days to one year. The driver’s license maybe suspended for two years and he or she may have to attend an alcohol treatment program.
Third Offense: A third DUI offense will cause the driver to face fines of $1100 up to $10,000 and will have to spend time in jail ranging from 120 days to one year. The driver can also face license suspension of at least three years and maximum ten years.
Fourth Offense or more: A fourth or subsequent DUI case can cause the driver to pay fines of $3000 up to $15,000 and face 150 days to one year in prison. The driver’s license can be suspended for five years.
To fully understand the penalties associated with a Tennessee DUI charge, it is strongly recommended that you consult with a Tennessee DUI lawyer that you are most comfortable with and who can knowledgeably represent you throughout your trial and court proceedings. You can find a Tennessee drunk driving attorney by typing in the city of your arrest above or call our 24 hour DUI hotline